Innovation in Education Awards


2014 Innovation in Education
Award Recipients

The 2014 Innovation Award categories included Innovative School Program, High Impact Teacher and Emerging Student Innovator. The 2014 Innovation in Education Awards were presented at the 21st Annual OC Tech Alliance Awards black tie reception on October 9th, 2014. This was the ninth consecutive year that Emulex Corporation has sponsored Project Tomorrow’s Innovation in Education Awards, and the first year that Microsemi has sponsored Project Tomorrow’s Innovation in Education Awards. We are very honored to have both of those partnerships.

2014 Innovation in Education Award Finalists

Innovative School Program in Science, Math, & Technology – honoring the strong leadership of a school principal in driving innovation in education. The nominees are:
Shaheer Faltas
Executive Director, Journey School
The Digital Media Literacy Project
*Jessica Banda
Principal, Jose Sepulveda Elementary School
Science and Health Focus
Carey Cecil
Principal, El Dorado High School
Digital Media Arts Academy
High Impact Teacher in Science, Math & Technology – acknowledging the influence of a great teacher in preparing his/her students to compete and thrive in the 21st century. The nominees are:
*Ed Hernandez
9-12 Engineering/Math Teacher, Tustin High School
T-Tech Academy 
Kevin Crossett
9-12 AP Computer Science/CAD Engineering Teacher, Huntington Beach High School
The HBHS Engineering Program
Glen Warren 
Technology Teacher Librarian, McPherson Magnet School
“What Matter To You, Matters!”
Emerging Student Innovator – recognizing students who are creatively using science, math and technology resources to solve a school or community problem. The nominees are:
Aamna & Haleema Abbasi
Beckman High School
Donor Project
*Samantha Langit
Aliso Niguel High School
Coding Program
Helen Kim
Brea Olinda High School
Motivating Kids in STEM
* winner