Innovation in Education Awards


2013 Innovation in Education
Award Recipients

The 2013 Innovation Award categories included Innovative School Program, High Impact Teacher and Emerging Student Innovator. The 2013 Innovation in Education Awards were presented at the 20th Annual OC Tech Alliance Awards black tie reception on October 15th, 2013. This was the eighth consecutive year that Emulex Corporation has sponsored Project Tomorrow’s Innovation in Education Awards.

2013 Innovation in Education Award Finalists

Innovative School Program in Science, Math, & Technology – honoring the strong leadership of a school principal in driving innovation in education. The nominees are:
Jonathan Blackmore
Principal, Tustin High School
T-Tech Engineering and Technology Academy
*Chris Carter
Principal, Aliso Niguel High School
ANHS Voluntary IPAD Academy
Alex Graham
Teacher, Canyon High School
Media Writing and Video Production
D'liese Melendrez
Principal, Edison High School
CIBACS (Center for International Business and Communication Studies)
High Impact Teacher in Science, Math & Technology – acknowledging the influence of a great teacher in preparing his/her students to compete and thrive in the 21st century. The nominees are:
*Scott Bedley
5th Grade Teacher,Plaza Vista K-8 School
Technology Applied Science Fair, Research Communities
Eric Gosselin
8th Grade Teacher, Newhart Middle School
Project-Based STEAM Curriculum
Jayson Ruth
Biology Teacher, Huntington Beach High School
Real Time Ecological Observations and Analysis
Emerging Student Innovator – recognizing students who are creatively using science, math and technology resources to solve a school or community problem. The nominees are:
Jennifer Cazarez & Christian Gallegos
Century High School
Digital Public Service Announcements on Environmental Awareness
*Anita Foroughi
Canyon High School
Community Awareness through Film Production
Sang Yeon Kim & Vikram Sriram
Brea Olinda High School
Men in Matters Physics Program
* winner